surge bottle overflow - PowerStrokeNation : Ford Powerstroke Diesel Forum

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 12 (permalink) Old 04-07-2015, 08:22 PM Thread Starter
PSN Local

surge bottle overflow

im not sure if this has been wrote up or not but here it goes, I got an '05 6.0 in june of 2013. the truck has had head studs, egr delete, Bullet Proof oil cooler installed by the previous owner, I just installed an Edge EVO CTS. Has 6" of lift with 35's. I noticed even befor I put the Edge in that when I would get on it then let up quickly on the pedal the waste gate would do its thing and I am getting coolant out the cap. I replaced the cap and it is still doing the same thing. im new to the 6.0, had 2 7.3 in the past. I was assuming that with the work done to the motor that It should be good to go. truck has 155,000 miles. what am I missing???

2005 Crew cab short box, FX4 OFFROAD, 6" LIft, 35" BFG AT, AFE stage 2, Bullit Proof Diesel oil cooling and filtration, Head studs, EGR Del, Magna flow exhaust, Edge EVO CTS
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 12 (permalink) Old 04-07-2015, 09:30 PM
<---Peggy Sue

Re: surge bottle overflow

6.0 turbos do not have a wastegate, they are variable geometry turbos. I would say you should pressure test the cap and make sure it is not venting to early then see how much pressure you are building in the cooling system.

e99 f350cclb lariat 4x4 zf6 ranchhands
leveled
4" dp 5" straight pipe
ccv mod
cai
Rosewood 180/100 single shots
Terminator t500 hpop
Garrett 38r with all the late 99 goodies
Currently

79 bronco 400m c6 8" lift 5.13s welded rear Detroit locker up front 38.5" tsls for the trail 35" bogger/buckshots for the mud bogs
post #3 of 12 (permalink) Old 04-07-2015, 10:33 PM
PSN Local

A: it shouldn't "vent" at all. Once it pukes the cap is toast--buy a new one
B: make sure it is not overfilled