Ford Power Stroke Nation banner

7.3 Injection Timing Thread

63K views 206 replies 43 participants last post by  old Smokey 
#1 ·
Very few of you here know who I am so I will introduce myself. My name is Matt Robinson and I am an engineer by day and someone who is currently addressing the issue of the lack of pulsewidth available on the 7.3 Powerstroke at high RPMs. I wanted to open this up to everyone to discuss. I also want to talk about injection behavior that was first brought up in the "engine failure" thread so that can be re-focused on the issue at hand.

Hopefully a good understanding of the 7.3's HEUI injection behavior will come out of this.

Matt R

#3 ·
Nope, background in RF and embedded computer systems but been hot rodding since a chld (not kidding). I started tuning gas cars a while back but have only been into the diesel tuning for a couple of years. There are a tiny few running my tuning out there.

I've been working on the cure for the 7.3 dropping pulsewidth starting at 2500or so rpms. I will have something ready very soon that will give the ability for the system to give full pulsewith at high rpms. Believe me... the OBDII port is lying when it says you are getting 5ms of pulsewidth at 3500 rpms.

Also we need to get some injector manufacturers in here to talk about injector speed. The timing of the actual injection event is very different on modified injectors vs stock in some cases depending on what modifications have been done. There are adders for injection advance in the tuning that are there to compensate for injector speed under various conditions. If you put a really fast injector in there who knows how much advance it is adding to the tune.......

I want to stir the pot here and see what can come out into the open without giving away any trade secrets....

Matt R

#4 ·