Ford Power Stroke Nation banner

NOS or a 42r?

3K views 40 replies 10 participants last post by  GTwho? 
#1 ·
Hey guys. I need some opinions here. David built a long block for me that has the works:crowers, mahles,girdle,etc. I'm going with the stage 3 hybrids he sells and the 38r that's on the truck now. I'm hoping for 500-ish hp. It's been pointed out that I could get in the 650 range with a 42r but that's gonna run me $4k to get set up. That got me to thinking that I could do NOS a lot cheaper and add 150hp for the strip or whatever. I wouldn't use it in the DD tune, just for playtime:D
What do you guys think? I have no experience at all with NOS. Good or bad idea?
EDIT: The truck is my DD and I haul a 10K 5er when I change jobs and go to the next job. I pull every couple of months or so for greatly varying distances.

#2 ·
Well first when you call it NOS you sound like a highschool kid that just watched Fast and Furious who doesn't have a clue. N.O.S. is a manufacturer of nitrous parts, NOT what nitrous is called.

If you use your truck for work then I'd leave it the way it is or maybe do a bigger turbo and call it good unless you can afford down time with it when you brake it. Personaly I'd rather have that power on tap all the time with the turbo anyway. I did get a nitrous system for the dyno and srip because it was cheaper in the mean time but I do plan on getting twins on the truck when funds allow. Had I had to do over considering the amount of money that I ended up putting into the system already I'd probably had done the twins first.

#3 ·
Good advice. I was just too lazy to spell nitrous. :D:poke:

#6 ·
Interesting. I was under the impression that you could ramp iy up and down or adjust nozzle sizes to limit the amount of nitrous you injected. I'm trying to learn here, not be arguementive.

#12 ·