Ford Power Stroke Nation banner

Roughnecks

12K views 170 replies 25 participants last post by  psdguy08 
#1 ·
Hey guys
I have a few questions. I really want to become a roughneck after high school. One of my buddies is the driller on a natural gas rig down in Texas and he said he would try to get me on the rig after school. Could anyone of you guys that work on rigs give me come advise/info on how to get on a rig and what its like. This is a career i really want to get into. Thanks in advance.

Chris

#2 ·
Unless you like torture, GO TO COLLEGE! Yeah, you make good money, but you absolutely earn every cent of it on a rig. Take welding at a reputable school and do the pipeline/industrial welding thing if you wanna be in the oil/gas field, lots of $$$ to be made.

#76 ·
I graduated from OSU welding Engineering and now work pipeline...You travel alot (currently on a one year stint in Malaysia) but it's good money and pretty cool job when It comes down to it..

#3 ·
I don't mind the torture. :evil Is it hard to get a job in that field?

#5 ·
If you go to college you can be on the other end, I work with the petroleum engineers who decide what wells to drill. I work in The Williams Companies corporate office.

#9 ·
I halfway agree with you! i think he should work in the field for at least a year then go be an engineer. that way he has the real world experience of the oilfield that he can take into the classroom. I hate all the bookworm engineers that think everything should go the way there books say it should happen.

#6 ·
I'm looking at getting on with H&P here soon in April on a training rig out in North Dakota, then after 2 hitches head out on a different rig. I have 5 family members in the oil field, 4 on H&P and 1 on Nabors, so I'll make the 6th. I'm actually kinda looking forward to it, but only because of the money.

For reference in how hard the work is, my dad lost 10lbs a hitch till he leaned up.

#7 ·