Ford Power Stroke Nation banner

DOT and Hotshots

9K views 74 replies 15 participants last post by  johnday 
#1 ·
Maybe some of you guys know the answer about hotshotting.
In another thread, Unexplained Pictures I think it was, there was a strange looking crewcab with a sleeper on it. Any way, someone made the statement that in La, as long as the trailer was disconnected from the pickup, you weren't subject to the DOT rules. Now, since this pickup has DOT numbers on it, isn't he subject to the same rules as us? Complete with CDL, hazmat if needed, safety equipment, etc? I always thought if it was commercial, all those requirements were mandatory.
I challenged the poster about it, but no one seemed to want to say anything, either they didn't know, or didn't want to admit a mistake.
What think you guys?;)

#2 ·
I wanna say if it requires DOT numbers, it is required to abide by all DOT laws. But I'm sure since I'm a newbie to trucking someone else will correct me;)

Have a friend that ownes a moble home repair company and he is required to have dot #'s on both of his pickups (hauling a 22 for enclosed bumper pull contractors trailer) and the driver's are also required to run a log book as well. Unless of course he is staying in state and not traveling more then 100 air miles from home base.

#5 ·
I wanna say if it requires DOT numbers, it is required to abide by all DOT laws. But I'm sure since I'm a newbie to trucking someone else will correct me;)
Ya, who's gonna listen to a FNG, eh?LOL
That's how I look at it.

#3 ·
this site always seemed to have a lot of good information for hot shotting, ltlhotshot.myfreeforum.org :: Index