Oscilloscope? - PowerStrokeNation : Ford Powerstroke Diesel Forum


Home Today's Posts Mark Forums Read
Go Back   PowerStrokeNation : Ford Powerstroke Diesel Forum > The Nation's Hangout > General Questions & Discussion
Register Members List Timeslips Calendar Auto Loans Sponsors Becoming a Sponsor Mark Forums Read Auto Escrow

PowerStrokeNation.com is the premier Ford Forum on the internet. Registered Users do not see the above ads.
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 02-08-2011, 05:44 PM
whytry's Avatar
whytry
Offline
Black Stroker
Member's Gallery
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Lanesville IN
Posts: 1,186
Oscilloscope?

Who uses them? I have been playing around with them but I didn't know who else has used them?
__________________
Matts tunes
Exhaust
K&N
Nozzles
A1000 fuel system
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message Go to the top
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
  #2  
Old 02-08-2011, 05:48 PM
OOWeaver68's Avatar
OOWeaver68
Online
Sponsor
Member's Gallery
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Southeast Texas
Posts: 451
Re: Oscilloscope?

I used them in college, but thats been 3 years ago. Dont remember much about them anymore.
__________________
Throttle Junkie Performance
toby@throttlejunkieperformance.com

2008 Ford F-250, King Ranch, Tuned, Lifted, Wheels, Tires.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message Go to the top
  #3  
Old 02-08-2011, 05:50 PM
Chillin's Avatar
Chillin
Offline
PSN Veteran
Member's Gallery
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Posts: 2,918
Re: Oscilloscope?

Many people use them, in a wild variety of applications.


Any time you need to see and/or measure output waveforms or reference the timing of one cyclical electrical signal to another the scope gets the call.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message Go to the top
  #4  
Old 02-08-2011, 05:52 PM
Coltaine's Avatar
Coltaine
Offline
Science rulz
Member's Gallery
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Aalesund Norway
Posts: 1,424
Send a message via AIM to Coltaine
Re: Oscilloscope?

I've used one to dial in a sound system... Once, that was the only time I've used one though.
__________________
One of them truckless bastards.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message Go to the top
  #5  
Old 02-08-2011, 05:52 PM
tekemp's Avatar
tekemp
Offline
PSN Newb
Member's Gallery
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Posts: 41
Re: Oscilloscope?

I use them quite a bit for diag. Some things you just can't catch on the scan tool
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message Go to the top
  #6  
Old 02-08-2011, 05:54 PM
Matt_P's Avatar
Matt_P
Offline
Was PSD0389
Member's Gallery
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Lima, OH
Posts: 2,601
Re: Oscilloscope?

Ive been using them for the past 6 weeks in school. Monitoring injector pulse width, checkin 02 sensors, any type of MPG sensors, lots other sensors too
__________________
03 F-350 CCLB King ranch undergoing a 6.0 delete
99 Fummins- SOLD
95 F250- SOLD
08 6.4- Totaled 12/19/10
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message Go to the top
  #7  
Old 02-08-2011, 06:44 PM
whytry's Avatar
whytry
Offline
Black Stroker
Member's Gallery
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Lanesville IN
Posts: 1,186
Re: Oscilloscope?

Yeah we are using them in school just have never seen one or heard of people using them in a shop.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message Go to the top
  #8  
Old 02-08-2011, 07:10 PM
Chillin's Avatar
Chillin
Offline
PSN Veteran
Member's Gallery
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Posts: 2,918
Re: Oscilloscope?

Quote:
Originally Posted by whytry View Post
Yeah we are using them in school just have never seen one or heard of people using them in a shop.

Oh, they are indispensable. Swamps has a number of them in use daily. I often use my own for diagnostic purposes and I'm not even a shop.

Without one you're "blind" to most digital signaling.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message Go to the top
  #9  
Old 02-08-2011, 07:19 PM
whytry's Avatar
whytry
Offline
Black Stroker
Member's Gallery
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Lanesville IN
Posts: 1,186
Re: Oscilloscope?

What do you use them on mostly sensors? Like to tell you if they are bad? Duty cycles?
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message Go to the top
  #10  
Old 02-08-2011, 07:23 PM
sick97psd1's Avatar
sick97psd1
Offline
Mike's Diesel Performance
Member's Gallery
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Chelsea, MI
Posts: 1,746
Send a message via AIM to sick97psd1
Re: Oscilloscope?

They are very handy to have to verify/check sensors such as MAP, MAF, Injector pulse width, Wheel speed sensors, O2 sensors. Without one you are just blind.
__________________
Mike's Diesel Performance
734-320-4701
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message Go to the top
  #11  
Old 02-08-2011, 07:25 PM
derrick36's Avatar
derrick36
Offline
PSN Veteran
Member's Gallery
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Posts: 814
Re: Oscilloscope?

We use them on a couple of our old-ass transmitters and the majority of our receivers at work. There are a handful of test points in each unit that we're required to record the wave from. Other than that they don't get a lot of use in our shop.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message Go to the top
  #12  
Old 02-08-2011, 07:55 PM
Arisley's Avatar
Arisley
Offline
All done now
Member's Gallery
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Arlington, TX
Posts: 22,301
Re: Oscilloscope?

I would love to have one. I just wish I could afford one. If I was given the choice of only one diagnostic tool but it could be whatever I wanted, it would be a good o-scope. They never go out of date. You can use them for anything.

If you don't have a DVOM, you can use the o-scope instead.
__________________
Early '99 F350 DRW, Excab, LB. Auto. 2WD, 2010 bed, 2005 headlights, 298K, on my way to 1000K.
H2E, 238 Hybrids, Adrenaline oil, Tuned by Tony. DIY Regulated Return.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message Go to the top
  #13  
Old 02-08-2011, 08:12 PM
Chillin's Avatar
Chillin
Offline
PSN Veteran
Member's Gallery
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Posts: 2,918
Re: Oscilloscope?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Arisley View Post
I would love to have one. I just wish I could afford one. If I was given the choice of only one diagnostic tool but it could be whatever I wanted, it would be a good o-scope. They never go out of date. You can use them for anything.

If you don't have a DVOM, you can use the o-scope instead.

Can't tell you how many times I've had just a basic requirement like voltage, frequency or the like and had the scope out with an extension cord following me around because I didn't have a DVOM handy.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message Go to the top
  #14  
Old 02-08-2011, 08:17 PM
Chillin's Avatar
Chillin
Offline
PSN Veteran
Member's Gallery
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Posts: 2,918
Re: Oscilloscope?

Quote:
Originally Posted by whytry View Post
What do you use them on mostly sensors? Like to tell you if they are bad? Duty cycles?

The communication between PCM and IDM, the IPR signal, CPS output, Injector high side and actual injection firing signals are just a few things I view the most on the truck.

I have a sub-harness that is a permanent part of my chassis harness with a Deutsch connector on it where I clip in another test harness that runs up into the cab to my scope. I often leave the scope on the seat next to me running off of an inverter so I can watch timing and pulsewidth LIVE in realtime while I drive and tune the truck.

If you want to know what your timing and pulsewidth values are, the scope is where the bullsh*t stops on these trucks.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message Go to the top
  #15  
Old 02-08-2011, 08:31 PM
whytry's Avatar
whytry
Offline
Black Stroker
Member's Gallery
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Lanesville IN
Posts: 1,186
Re: Oscilloscope?

Yea it is kinda hard to lie with those things. Not really hard to use at all. Glad I will actually use this.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message Go to the top
  #16  
Old 02-08-2011, 08:31 PM
JAKE
Offline
PSN nerd
Member's Gallery
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: TOLAR,TX
Posts: 2,301
Re: Oscilloscope?

I use one at work on a regular basis. We got some new fluke ones that are badass
__________________
97 F250SC 4X4 4 LINKED ON AIR <- FOR SALE!!!!!!

00 F350CC 4x4 I NEED A FLATBED FOR IT!!!!! LET ME KNOW IF YALL KNOW ANYBODY THAT HAS ONE



TOTAL DIESEL PERFORMANCE

STOCK HORSE OF TEXAS ASSN

SOUTHWEST REINED COWHORSE
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message Go to the top
  #17  
Old 02-08-2011, 08:58 PM
Arisley's Avatar
Arisley
Offline
All done now
Member's Gallery
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Arlington, TX
Posts: 22,301
Re: Oscilloscope?

If anybody has an old ugly looking one that they want to sell cheap, please let me know.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message Go to the top
  #18  
Old 02-08-2011, 09:00 PM
Chillin's Avatar
Chillin
Offline
PSN Veteran
Member's Gallery
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Posts: 2,918
Re: Oscilloscope?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Arisley View Post
If anybody has an old ugly looking one that they want to sell cheap, please let me know.

Define cheap? You may be surprised at what they can be had for. Or I may be surprised at what you're willing to spend, one or the other.




But I got mine for like 450 brand new at Frys because it was an open box.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message Go to the top
  #19  
Old 02-08-2011, 09:12 PM
Arisley's Avatar
Arisley
Offline
All done now
Member's Gallery
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Arlington, TX
Posts: 22,301
Re: Oscilloscope?

I am really looking for someone that has an old ugly military field use one. That they aquired from somebody and have no clue what they are looking at. And I get it for a easy 100 dollar bill. If I run across a deal with five of those, how many do you want?
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message Go to the top
  #20  
Old 02-08-2011, 09:16 PM
Chillin's Avatar
Chillin
Offline
PSN Veteran
Member's Gallery
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Posts: 2,918
Re: Oscilloscope?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Arisley View Post
I am really looking for someone that has an old ugly military field use one. That they aquired from somebody and have no clue what they are looking at. And I get it for a easy 100 dollar bill. If I run across a deal with five of those, how many do you want?
I'm good. One scope is enough for me.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message Go to the top
  #21  
Old 02-09-2011, 03:37 AM
JAKE
Offline
PSN nerd
Member's Gallery
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: TOLAR,TX
Posts: 2,301
Re: Oscilloscope?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Arisley View Post
I am really looking for someone that has an old ugly military field use one. That they aquired from somebody and have no clue what they are looking at. And I get it for a easy 100 dollar bill. If I run across a deal with five of those, how many do you want?
we have some old tektronix that I think there gonna get rid of at work. I will find out if I get time.

ScopeMeter 190 Series II


This is the one that I use all the time at work. I LOVE it soo much better than the tektronix
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message Go to the top
  #22  
Old 02-09-2011, 03:40 AM
Arisley's Avatar
Arisley
Offline
All done now
Member's Gallery
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Arlington, TX
Posts: 22,301
Re: Oscilloscope?

Cool machine. Yeah, let me know on an old Tektronix.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message Go to the top
  #23  
Old 02-09-2011, 03:58 AM
907DAVE's Avatar
907DAVE
Offline
PSN Pretender
Member's Gallery
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: AK
Posts: 1,926
Re: Oscilloscope?

I use one daily at work (auto/ diesel repair), the days of test lights and ohm meters are gone. Without an O-Scope you would be completely lost/ or just a POS parts changer who wouldn't know if the part you are changing is bad..... or why it failed.





Quote:
Originally Posted by Coltaine View Post
I've used one to dial in a sound system... Once, that was the only time I've used one though.
I would like to hear more about this.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message Go to the top
  #24  
Old 02-09-2011, 04:06 AM
Fotno
Offline
PSN Newb
Member's Gallery
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Posts: 38
Re: Oscilloscope?

I use them at work a lot.Usually when something has went tits up.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message Go to the top
  #25  
Old 02-09-2011, 04:26 AM
Arisley's Avatar
Arisley
Offline
All done now
Member's Gallery
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Arlington, TX
Posts: 22,301
Re: Oscilloscope?

A cool machine for sound is a spectrum analyzer. Those things put the sound on a screen, you can see the noise and do things to remove it.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message Go to the top
  #26  
Old 02-09-2011, 04:28 AM
whytry's Avatar
whytry
Offline
Black Stroker
Member's Gallery
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Lanesville IN
Posts: 1,186
Re: Oscilloscope?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Arisley View Post
A cool machine for sound is a spectrum analyzer. Those things put the sound on a screen, you can see the noise and do things to remove it.
I beat those are worth a pretty penny.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message Go to the top
  #27  
Old 02-09-2011, 04:32 AM
Arisley's Avatar
Arisley
Offline
All done now
Member's Gallery
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Arlington, TX
Posts: 22,301
Re: Oscilloscope?

Actually, about the same as a good o-scope. Just do a little different job.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message Go to the top
  #28  
Old 02-09-2011, 12:35 PM
whytry's Avatar
whytry
Offline
Black Stroker
Member's Gallery
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Lanesville IN
Posts: 1,186
Re: Oscilloscope?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Arisley View Post
Actually, about the same as a good o-scope. Just do a little different job.
What is different just sound?
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message Go to the top
  #29  
Old 02-09-2011, 01:19 PM
JLDickmon's Avatar
JLDickmon
Offline
blame the dog..
Member's Gallery
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: SW Lower Michigan
Posts: 1,945
Re: Oscilloscope?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Arisley View Post
If anybody has an old ugly looking one that they want to sell cheap, please let me know.
Find one of the tool truck guys and see if they have any Sun lab scopes (want to say the model designation was either a 4000 or 7000 - been a few years.. traded it in on my MODIS). They're going to be used, so they should be fairly cheap.
__________________
Quote:
This site needs new newbs.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message Go to the top
  #30  
Old 02-09-2011, 01:38 PM
Chillin's Avatar
Chillin
Offline
PSN Veteran
Member's Gallery
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Posts: 2,918
Re: Oscilloscope?

Quote:
Originally Posted by whytry View Post
What is different just sound?

Instead of displaying voltage vs time they display voltage vs frequency.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message Go to the top
  #31  
Old 02-09-2011, 02:43 PM
whytry's Avatar
whytry
Offline
Black Stroker
Member's Gallery
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Lanesville IN
Posts: 1,186
Re: Oscilloscope?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Chillin View Post
Instead of displaying voltage vs time they display voltage vs frequency.
Thank you
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message Go to the top
  #32  
Old 02-09-2011, 05:55 PM
whytry's Avatar
whytry
Offline
Black Stroker
Member's Gallery
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Lanesville IN
Posts: 1,186
Re: Oscilloscope?

What brand do you all use?
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message Go to the top
  #33  
Old 02-09-2011, 07:39 PM
Chillin's Avatar
Chillin
Offline
PSN Veteran
Member's Gallery
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Posts: 2,918
Re: Oscilloscope?

I've got a Tektronix TDS 1002.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message Go to the top
  #34  
Old 02-10-2011, 03:07 AM
Short Bus
Offline
PSN Veteran
Member's Gallery
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: kansas
Posts: 5,464
Re: Oscilloscope?

ive got a fluke portable.
__________________
2013 ccsb 4x4-stock
99 ccsb 4x4- built to the hilt, wife's DD!
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message Go to the top
  #35  
Old 02-10-2011, 03:19 AM
JLDickmon's Avatar
JLDickmon
Offline
blame the dog..
Member's Gallery
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: SW Lower Michigan
Posts: 1,945
Re: Oscilloscope?

I talked to my Snap-On guy today..
he's gonna start scrounging for a couple of Sun LS2000's...

Anyone that might think they want one, PM and I'll let you know if he scores.. he does have a used MODIS, that's updated to 10.2 (2008) with Aisian and German.. IIRC he said $4,000 would take it.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message Go to the top
  #36  
Old 02-10-2011, 12:40 PM
whytry's Avatar
whytry
Offline
Black Stroker
Member's Gallery
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Lanesville IN
Posts: 1,186
Re: Oscilloscope?

Is that a good price? I was thinking more than that to tell you the truth special from snap on.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message Go to the top
  #37  
Old 02-10-2011, 02:31 PM
JLDickmon's Avatar
JLDickmon
Offline
blame the dog..
Member's Gallery
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: SW Lower Michigan
Posts: 1,945
Re: Oscilloscope?

Quote:
Originally Posted by whytry View Post
Is that a good price? I was thinking more than that to tell you the truth special from snap on.
mine new was like $8,000, so yeah, that's not bad..
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message Go to the top
  #38  
Old 02-10-2011, 02:42 PM
whytry's Avatar
whytry
Offline
Black Stroker
Member's Gallery
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Lanesville IN
Posts: 1,186
Re: Oscilloscope?

Wow what model is it?
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message Go to the top
  #39  
Old 02-12-2011, 07:13 AM
sick97psd1's Avatar
sick97psd1
Offline
Mike's Diesel Performance
Member's Gallery
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Chelsea, MI
Posts: 1,746
Send a message via AIM to sick97psd1
Re: Oscilloscope?

It is a MODIS as was stated in his post!
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message Go to the top
  #40  
Old 02-12-2011, 06:15 PM
nitrogen's Avatar
nitrogen
Offline
PSN Local
Member's Gallery
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Carstairs alberta
Posts: 352
Re: Oscilloscope?

done right you can read the commutater fields on a turning starter and get a very clear idea of its condition. it will tell you whether, any of the windings are developing high resistance(before it becomes an open) condition of armature/brushes/bearings. i'm told its actually a 15 minute or less to test, most of that being hooking up the Oscope
__________________
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message Go to the top
  #41  
Old 02-13-2011, 12:45 AM
907DAVE's Avatar
907DAVE
Offline
PSN Pretender
Member's Gallery
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: AK
Posts: 1,926
Re: Oscilloscope?

That, and about 10,000 other things can be observed with a scope......lol.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message Go to the top
  #42  
Old 02-13-2011, 12:47 AM
whytry's Avatar
whytry
Offline
Black Stroker
Member's Gallery
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Lanesville IN
Posts: 1,186
Re: Oscilloscope?

Yeah we were looking at pulse widths on Friday its pretty cool.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message Go to the top
  #43  
Old 02-13-2011, 12:49 AM
907DAVE's Avatar
907DAVE
Offline
PSN Pretender
Member's Gallery
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: AK
Posts: 1,926
Re: Oscilloscope?

Here's a shot of my timing @ 3k.........

Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message Go to the top
  #44  
Old 02-13-2011, 12:51 AM
907DAVE's Avatar
907DAVE
Offline
PSN Pretender
Member's Gallery
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: AK
Posts: 1,926
Re: Oscilloscope?

There is PW, peak and hold voltage, CPS and timing all bundled up in that one shot.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message Go to the top
  #45  
Old 02-14-2011, 12:57 PM
Chillin's Avatar
Chillin
Offline
PSN Veteran
Member's Gallery
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Posts: 2,918
Re: Oscilloscope?

Quote:
Originally Posted by 907DAVE View Post
There is PW, peak and hold voltage, CPS and timing all bundled up in that one shot.

You have a very nasty CPS signal. What color sensor is that? Mine is always crisp and flat.

Btw, are you showing cylinder #4 toward the right past what looks to be the wider CPS pulse?

If so.... why aren't you looking at cylinder #1, or more to the point.... why does your scope not automatically trigger itself to #1, considering that it's the longest gap in the sequence?

Or did you pull the injector high side from the driver's side instead of passengers?




On Edit:

Nevermind about the signal noise, I found a picture I had taken a while back on my truck and it's about the same deal. Don't know why I thought it was cleaner. Must have been thinking about CID. You can tell how long ago this picture was taken, just look at that pw, lol.

Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message Go to the top
  #46  
Old 02-14-2011, 01:57 PM
HotRodTractor's Avatar
HotRodTractor
Offline
HRT Performance
Member's Gallery
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Mingo, OH
Posts: 4,562
Re: Oscilloscope?

Scopes are handy as hell. We use a couple at work, I have one in the shop at home, I've used Nate's at Unlimited when we were playing around with his truck to see if the real world was matching the scanner, etc... very handy tool.
__________________
1979 Ford Supercab 7.3L PSD - Allison Transmission Project Log
2006 Dmax MPI compounds
2006 VW Jetta TDI
1968 Chevy - 5.9

Videos Pictures
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message Go to the top
  #47  
Old 02-14-2011, 02:12 PM
JLDickmon's Avatar
JLDickmon
Offline
blame the dog..
Member's Gallery
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: SW Lower Michigan
Posts: 1,945
Re: Oscilloscope?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Chillin View Post
You have a very nasty CPS signal. What color sensor is that? Mine is always crisp and flat.

Btw, are you showing cylinder #4 toward the right past what looks to be the wider CPS pulse?

If so.... why aren't you looking at cylinder #1, or more to the point.... why does your scope not automatically trigger itself to #1, considering that it's the longest gap in the sequence?

Or did you pull the injector high side from the driver's side instead of passengers?
I was looking at that too, only I was trying to use MS Paint to put little circles and arrows and a paragraph on the back of each one to explain what it was to be used as evi... nevermind..
Anyways, I got pi$$ed off and that became a case of the f*ck its...

But the point is..
two people caught the same thing by looking at a lab scope...

something that a DVOM or a scanner never would have caught...
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message Go to the top
  #48  
Old 02-15-2011, 03:39 AM
907DAVE's Avatar
907DAVE
Offline
PSN Pretender
Member's Gallery
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: AK
Posts: 1,926
Re: Oscilloscope?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Chillin View Post
Btw, are you showing cylinder #4 toward the right past what looks to be the wider CPS pulse?

If so.... why aren't you looking at cylinder #1, or more to the point.... why does your scope not automatically trigger itself to #1, considering that it's the longest gap in the sequence?

Or did you pull the injector high side from the driver's side instead of passengers?

Not sure why it was not triggering on #1, looked to me like it was #7(?).

It can be seen a little clearer in this shot I took at a steady cruise.



To be honest I did not pursue this as I did not feel it made that big of a difference, but maybe I should.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message Go to the top
  #49  
Old 02-15-2011, 12:52 PM
Chillin's Avatar
Chillin
Offline
PSN Veteran
Member's Gallery
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Posts: 2,918
Re: Oscilloscope?

Quote:
Originally Posted by 907DAVE View Post
Not sure why it was not triggering on #1, looked to me like it was #7(?).

It can be seen a little clearer in this shot I took at a steady cruise.



To be honest I did not pursue this as I did not feel it made that big of a difference, but maybe I should.



If you've got your probe on the passenger's high side and you trigger off of the injector signal the scope should trigger on #1 by default because that's the biggest gap.

The sequence for that high side wire throughout the firing order would be...

Cylinder 1: Energized

Cylinder 2: ---------

Cylinder 7: Energized

Cylinder 3: Energized

Cylinder 4: ---------

Cylinder 5: Energized

Cylinder 6: --------- Biggest Gap

Cylinder 8: --------- Between these two.

Cylinder 1: Energized

Cylinder 2: ---------



With a two cylinder layover between 5 and 1 the scope should always automatically trigger to cylinder #1 if you use the high side wire for the trigger and not the CPS.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message Go to the top
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the PowerStrokeNation : Ford Powerstroke Diesel Forum forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in

Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.




(View-All Members who have read this thread : 113
'99 stroker, 02BigD, 03-blue-Powerstroke, 04stroker, 2006nytro, 444-4D, 5shifter, 6.0 p-stroke, 6.0Dually, 87jumpy, 907DAVE, 94.5 Stroker, 98chevy4x4, 99F250Smitty, Aaron S, Arisley, ARS267, bazdog1, bconn587, Big Calo, Binder man, brianb7.3, Bushwakd, ByrdDog, Chillin, chris1978, co04cobra, COFG-28, Coltaine, conethrower, dbd181, Dieselgeek, Dieselhead Jake, dieselmac, ditch_dawg, downeaster8238, DRIOTT, Dudley Glass, Dustball8504, Dustin F2504x4, eleventhtruck, F-250-Owner, Fever, fords4life, Fotno, FX4 F2-Fifty, golfer, halerazor, hill_billiez, HotRodTractor, id: 5520, JAKE, jdc753, je5689, Jet Fuel, JLDickmon, Jngreen, johnluke, jonathan734, Lill Pete, LOSTCAUSEPOWERSTROKE, Magnum PD, mandkole, Matt05, mattr66, Matt_P, Mpoage, neverkickn, New6.0PSOwner, nitrogen, nutsnboltsjp, OOWeaver68, OUTLAW101, PHPDiesel, plowboy1, Pocket, Powerstroke85, PowerstrokeR00, powr2stroke, PSDfan99, razorscs, rlpzzz, roughneck0913, SeeYa, SevenThree, Shaw, sick97psd1, Smut, sniper_101, speeddemon31176, Steamfighter, steinerr, stroke of luck, tekemp, tgf, THEDIESELMAN, tjl, Tom S, turbom700, TxFire, UNBROKEN, USMCpoolee, vader's fury, washingtoncoastie, whitejohn, whitjo, whytry, zaairman
Thread Tools
Display Modes


Posting Rules
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On

Forum Jump


All times are GMT. The time now is 12:18 AM.



Powered by vBulletin® Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.