Ford Power Stroke Nation banner

6.4L Fast??? WTF!!!!

39K views 71 replies 28 participants last post by  jdiesel_us 
#1 ·
Ok, so I am fairly new to the Diesel motors, I've driven gas motors all my life up until 4 months ago. I bought a 2009 :ford: F-250 Super Duty Lariat CC/SWB. I was driving a 2008 Nissan Titan 5.6L V8 prior to this. I bought the truck for two reasons, 1) was for work, so I can idle the truck on Land Rig sites and 2) for better MPG. Well it fell short of both expectations!!! Because of the stupid dpf, you can’t idle the truck too long or from what I think I’ve heard it can cause a lot of problems later on and the MPG from the lie-o-meter has been at 9.5 – 10.3 MPG/City and 13.7 to 15.2 MPG/Hwy.

Another thing about this truck, is that I saw all the proclaimed hp & Torque this truck produced, which was a lot more then my Titan, but it seems to fall short of its rated hp. This truck is Stock, from the tires to the engine, I did nothing to the truck and I bought it used. Unofficially raced on the street from a light,
05 Ford F250 :eek:wned: :bowfast: (this was Load182 truck BTW)
Honda S200 :eek:wned:
Honda Accord (4 cylinder):eek:wned:
01 Chevy 2500 Diesel :eek:wned: (this is the only time I had anything modified, I had an S&B Cold Air Intake)

All these are very bad loses, at least 3-4 car lengths or more. Nothing I did, boosted, straight jump off the light any of it helped. I am very disappointed to say the least as to the lack there of a hp this 9K truck has. I'm not expecting it to fly down the road like my Titan did, but I did expect a lot more out of it then this, I mean I can’t even beat a 4 cylinder car, C’mon MAN!!! :mad::mad::mad::mad::mad: