Ford Power Stroke Nation banner

Speaker break in

1K views 7 replies 6 participants last post by  907DAVE 
#1 ·
Gonna throw this out merely for discussion and point of view. I have no opinion but found this to be an interesting read. Don't shoot the messenger as they say......

Break in BS link

#2 ·
Hmm that was a very interesting read.

Break in is something that I have never really done or paid much attention to. I am pretty sure that the subwoofer I had loosened up and appeared to play lower and with more output after a certain time of owning/using it but I have never personally experienced similar breakin changes with anything else.

I do have friends who insist on feeding their new drivers say 10w off their home stereo receiver for a certain break in period before installing them in their car but I have no first hand experience with these practices.

I can say one thing, I will be reading a lot more of this guys articles to see what else he has to say, seems like he covers a lot of good topics.

#4 ·
Yup that's the jist of it, he is basically saying that when measuring the T/S specs of the speaker out of the box vs "broken in" yielded little to no change, also saying that most speakers will get "broken" in at the manufacturer before getting shipped out. Also says that this "breaking in" isn't really breaking in but more or less breaking down and softening of the materials. It was an interesting read.

#5 ·
i break all my subs in now after i went through 4 12s within 2 weeks and blowing them the ones i run now i broke in and they perform great
EDIT his last sentence verified that i do it more to get rid of the smell than anything too much power though to new speakers just didnt work for me for a while

#6 ·