Ford Power Stroke Nation banner

Question for Professional Welders

1K views 16 replies 10 participants last post by  Hawker 
#1 ·
I am looking at buying a used tig welder. I can get it for $350. I will rarely use it for mostly small aluminum fixes and maybe some light stainless. I have never tig welded before but want to learn. I hate taking all my aluminum to someone else to fix. I have been researching the machine a little and all of the feedback i have seen is " buy a bigger machine you will outgrow it fast" and "is not good for big jobs". I hope they are referring to professional welders and not that the machine is junk. I will not use it often and for long periods. Like I said just occasionally for repairs and small home projects.Here it is.Would like some opinions.

Miller - TIG Welders - Econotig

#3 ·
Thats a steal to get an econotig for that price. I am not a professional welder but weld alot. I have a dynasty 200dx. Tig is definitely not the easiest but if you can stick weld tig will come pretty quick. Aluminum is the toughest out of all the common materials, but with some practice and getting the material clean clean clean! it will come around. Since it is a transformer machine I dont know what the max thickness with aluminum would be. I can do 1/4" with my dynasty on argon and 3/8" with helium mix but the inverter machine is a totally different animal. I bet 1/8" aluminum would be possible at 150amps probably more with some beveling at the weld seam and preheating and or multiple passes. I think the reviews are also for the people that are pushing them more than a hobby machine and did not understand they bought a 150a machine. All my equipment I have is miller and I have no complaints. Especially picking it up for $350. A new dynasty 200dx is like $3500 I would go for it. there is also a message board on the miller site, you may be able to find some other people that have them too. My Dynasty broke 1000hrs on the arc meter this weekend.

#4 ·