No cam plate
AFC ahead stock star wheel location
5 X .012” Injectors 260 Bar
4K GSK
Coolant bypass kit
HX-35 14cm non-gated turbine housing, to 3” down pipe
Stock stroker exhaust 3.5”
AFE

I am shooting for 30 MPG and currently running around MI in weather in the low teens averaging 17 mpg. I have been driving it for about 3 months now since I finished it. I am attributing the low mpg to the hi boost numbers I am seeing? Truck may be too heavy, too much wind resistance, too big of an injector, or too tight of a turbine housing?

Things I am considering trying, each by itself to monitor changes:

Put some 235-75r-16s on it.... (gained 2 mpg to 18.9)
Change to another tire and rim combo? MT vs AT? More rim less tire?
Change out to a16cm housing and 4 or 5” exhaust (hopefully this this coming weekend I will do this)
Go down to a 5 x .010 injector (have them but last resort)
Build an air dam (I hear there are some guys on here that have had good luck)
Lower it (this will be after the turbine housing change)

Looking for some input from the guys that have setup their trucks for MPG.

Here are some pics

Drivetrain stolen

with the 235 85r 16s on it

Motor

Gear Vendors Adapter

Gear Vendors Installed

Crusing RPM

Cruising Boost and EGT with 235s

Any positive input is appreciated....

See less See more
#2 ·
Nice looking work so far. I like seeing a guy improve an abused piece of machinery.

Before we get too far, we need to know what you mean by "30 MPG." Is it a "snapshot" taken one time on a suitable piece of road? Is a one tankful average? If all you want is a snapshot drive 30 MPH down a 7% grad with a thirty knot tailwind. There is no shortage of guys that do that, but IMHO they are lying to me (I don't care - I know better by now), they are lying to the board, and worst of all lying to themselves.

This is how I measure it. Maybe you have a better plan.