No communication - PowerStrokeNation : Ford Powerstroke Diesel Forum


Home Today's Posts Mark Forums Read
Go Back   PowerStrokeNation : Ford Powerstroke Diesel Forum > F-250 & F-350 1986-1997 & Other Ford Trucks > 1994-1997 Power Stroke Technical Info
Register Members List Timeslips Calendar Auto Loans Sponsors Becoming a Sponsor Mark Forums Read Auto Escrow

PowerStrokeNation.com is the premier Ford Forum on the internet. Registered Users do not see the above ads.
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 02-24-2010, 01:25 PM
dieselman81's Avatar
dieselman81
Offline
PSN Veteran
Member's Gallery
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Yorkville,IL
Posts: 255
Send a message via Yahoo to dieselman81
No communication

My buddy has a 97 PSD like mine and he cant communicate with his scan tool via OBD 2. Is his ECM bad or is it possible that someone before him had a tuner on it? If his ECM is bad, anyone on here have one they want to get rid of or know of a place besides ford to get one?????
Reply With Quote Go to the top
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
  #2  
Old 02-24-2010, 02:02 PM
greenbeast's Avatar
greenbeast
Offline
Irate Sales Guy
Member's Gallery
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Readyville, TN
Posts: 1,196
Re: No communication

Check the cig lighter fuse.
__________________
97 F-250 CC 350/200's, Intercooler, Billet S468, T-4 mount, BTS trans, Irate Electric Fuel, BTS Dual Pumps, Water Meth, NOS, ARP studs, Comp 910 springs, Gearhead tuning.

503-435-9599
Reply With Quote Go to the top
  #3  
Old 02-24-2010, 02:51 PM
countryboyrob
Offline
PSN Veteran
Member's Gallery
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: No man's land
Posts: 15,537
Re: No communication

Quote:
Originally Posted by greenbeast View Post
Check the cig lighter fuse.


the fuse for the cig lighter is also for the obd port
__________________
02 f250
Reply With Quote Go to the top
  #4  
Old 02-24-2010, 06:20 PM
dieselman81's Avatar
dieselman81
Offline
PSN Veteran
Member's Gallery
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Yorkville,IL
Posts: 255
Send a message via Yahoo to dieselman81
Re: No communication

fuse is good... if someone had load tunes from a tuner can you still communicate with a scan tool?
Reply With Quote Go to the top
  #5  
Old 02-24-2010, 07:20 PM
old man dave
Offline
Terminator Nation
Member's Gallery
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Petaluma, Ca
Posts: 3,532
Re: No communication

Does the truck run? My truck communicates with AE with a chip installed. If the truck doesn't run it may be a bad ECM.
__________________
Just another 408hp '97 California Truck with a stock muffler
Reply With Quote Go to the top
  #6  
Old 02-24-2010, 07:44 PM
dieselman81's Avatar
dieselman81
Offline
PSN Veteran
Member's Gallery
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Yorkville,IL
Posts: 255
Send a message via Yahoo to dieselman81
Re: No communication

yea the truck run fine, but hes worried if something goes wrong he wont be able to find out whats wrong with it. Know of a good place to get an ECM?
Reply With Quote Go to the top
  #7  
Old 02-24-2010, 10:47 PM
countryboyrob
Offline
PSN Veteran
Member's Gallery
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: No man's land
Posts: 15,537
Re: No communication

What scan tool is he using?
Reply With Quote Go to the top
  #8  
Old 02-24-2010, 10:48 PM
smokyred's Avatar
smokyred
Offline
What else?
Member's Gallery
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Wellington, OH
Posts: 4,156
Send a message via AIM to smokyred
Re: No communication

I think you're barking up the wrong tree here.

You never mentioned what scan tool he has. Some less expensive scan tools cannot communicate with PSDs. I would try using a good scan tool like one from Snap On or the factory scan tool to try to communicate with the truck.

The only times I've been unable to get a good scan tool to communicate was the cigarette lighter fuse was blown, the trucks batteries were dead, or the PCM was bad. And when the PCM's have been bad, the trucks did not run right, or run at all.

Dave
__________________
'08 F250 6.4/Torqshift Spartan 310EL, Flo-Pro 4", White_monster air intake, RCD 4-link, RS9000's 584/1330

Taking a break from trucks to play with guns!

My Pictures
Reply With Quote Go to the top
  #9  
Old 02-24-2010, 11:11 PM
offroadinginaz's Avatar
offroadinginaz
Offline
It wasn't me
Member's Gallery
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Gilbert, Arizona
Posts: 1,232
Re: No communication

If it is AE you need to choose NON OBDII!
__________________
Newman
A few Fords
Special Thanks to:
Bullet Proof Diesel
Strictly Diesel
Arizona Powerstroke Group
Reply With Quote Go to the top
  #10  
Old 02-25-2010, 04:30 PM
dieselman81's Avatar
dieselman81
Offline
PSN Veteran
Member's Gallery
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Yorkville,IL
Posts: 255
Send a message via Yahoo to dieselman81
Re: No communication

he has a matco scan tool
Reply With Quote Go to the top
Reply


(View-All Members who have read this thread : 15
Bradbilt, BROCKDIESELDUDE, CLASSICIDI, dieselman81, dyoung14, f350kid, injected79, iowawiley, jstethem12, nujef12, PDEMICH, The Red Monster, twostroke, wynndaddy, zx800x
Thread Tools
Display Modes


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT. The time now is 10:19 AM.



Powered by vBulletin® Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.