Died and won't restart - PowerStrokeNation : Ford Powerstroke Diesel Forum

Home Today's Posts Mark Forums Read
Go Back   PowerStrokeNation : Ford Powerstroke Diesel Forum > Super Duty 1999-Current > 7.3L Power Stroke Technical Info
Register Members List Timeslips Calendar Auto Loans Sponsors Becoming a Sponsor Mark Forums Read Auto Escrow

PowerStrokeNation.com is the premier Ford Forum on the internet. Registered Users do not see the above ads.

Old 02-15-2010, 05:28 AM
mikes6423
Ride it like you stole it
Member's Gallery

Died and won't restart

Help, 2000 7.3 I had driven about 10 miles when truck died like you turned the switch off, would not restart. After towing it home and checking a couple things,(I'm just learning about the PS) several hours it cranked and idled an hour in driveway. I replaced the cps and checked the fuel pressure, 58 psi at wot. Today after 20 miles it quit again and would not crank. No CEL, Wait to start is coming on, turns over good, 60 psi fuel. no codes. I will see in the morning if it cranks cold. Where do I go from here?
Reply With Quote Go to the top
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Old 02-15-2010, 01:08 PM
JerseyJim
Headwind Magnet
Member's Gallery

Re: Died and won't restart

What are you using to retreive codes? "Normal" code readers don't talk to PSD's. You need Auto Enginuity software or a Snap-on reader. The good news is you've probably eliminated fuel pressure...how about the fuel filter? How many miles on your oil? Try to give us a little more info.
Best,
Jim
Old 02-15-2010, 01:59 PM
mikes6423
Member's Gallery

Used an Actron scanner. will have to get AE reader. Just installed new filter after it quit first time, oil has about 2500 mi on it (Rotella 15-40)
Old 02-15-2010, 02:25 PM
JerseyJim
Headwind Magnet
Member's Gallery

Quote:
Originally Posted by mikes6423 View Post