Ford Power Stroke Nation banner

H2E Spool up really slow???

3K views 28 replies 9 participants last post by  ParkerFly 
#1 ·
Hey guys, i just took my truck to the drags this weekend and i have a lot of power but that H2E takes a long time to spool up! When it was on the dyno the guy who was doing it told me there was something wrong with my truck cause the turbo gauge didn't even budge. He let go of the throttle just as the turbo was starting and i dynoed 289hp without it! i just can't figure out why it's so slow???

#3 ·
Did the dyno "load" the engine?

If not then you will never get the charger to light.

Keep in mind I am no dyno expert, but I think some of them load the engine and others may not. A diesel has to be loaded in order to light the charger. Without a load it is like free reving the engine.

Might be a drive side (pre turbo) exhaust leak, might be a charge air leak. The modded H2E is a larger charger and harder to light.

#21 ·

Keep in mind I am no dyno expert, but I think some of them load the engine and others may not. A diesel has to be loaded in order to light the charger. Without a load it is like free reving the engine.
You can say that again:doh:

There are basically only 2 reasons why you would not be able to light an H2E on a dynojet. Too much fuel too early, or a serious leak in the manifold/up-pipes.

#5 ·
How does that work? The smoke slowing it down i mean? But to answer your question... yes it does! It smoked way more than it should. Probably the worst one at the show!

#7 ·
Too much fuel without boost to burn it. Try flooring it from a lug and see how long it takes to light, then slowly apply the skinny pedal paying attention to the boost as it rises. It will light faster and run harder if you don't snuff the charger out.

This can be done with tuning, or with your right foot. ;)

#6 ·