Ford Power Stroke Nation banner

Trans took a dump

2K views 24 replies 10 participants last post by  Big Bore 
#1 ·
Less than 20K with billet forward drum, TC and triple disk clutches. I am nowhere in the HP range that should destroy this trans. Need to pull it and see what's up, but pretty sure it's the TC. When a TC goes, does it take other stuff with it?

#3 ·
mine took out two of the clutch packs when it went out but i didn help it by gettin pissed and holding it wide open for awhile w/ a trailer in tow while i pegged the tranny temp guage.:ford::D

#4 ·
I am planning to call ATO who built the trans tommorrow and see if the 24K warranty will transfer, the trans was in the truck when I bought it. I spoke with the builder over the phone a couple weeks ago about shift programming and he seems like a reasonable fellow. The real issue is he is in CA and I'm in CO. I have never worked on an auto before. It would be nice if the TC could just be replaced without having to tear down the entire trans, if that is the problem. This could not have happened at a worse time. I guess I should be planning how to come up with money for a BTS if the original builder doesn't come through. This is exactly why I have never liked autos, just unreliable. Dammit.

#6 ·
Hey Joey, do you beat on it? I have driven this truck sorta agressively since I got it, mostly pulling the hills hard and a few burnouts, but I thought it was built to handle that.

#8 ·
Yea, it was shifting nice coming out the gate of Ft Carson Sun night, right up until all the racket and no more go. At least the noise went away so I had heat and a radio for the two hour wait for a $350 tow.

Side note. Turning up the fuel to 75psi and installing 140v IDM made it run a lot quieter and smoother. Maybe it makes so much horsepower now that a super heavy duty billet 3 disk TC and Vasco billet steel forward drum cant handle it.:doh::mad:

#9 ·