Ford Power Stroke Nation banner

TURBOCHARGER BLOWN!!!!!!!

14K views 64 replies 20 participants last post by  TimBoughtaF350 
#1 ·
I'm new to PSN, but a guy on another site said there is/was several discussions about aftermarket turbo companies.
My tuck is of course a 6.7L, it's a 2011 and it has 54,000 miles, but that won't really matter to a dealership. I have an H&S tuner installed.

Has anyone heard of a place to get them rebuilt?
I don't know what tears up when a turbo "blows up".

#3 ·
I seriously doubt it, with tuner installed even if I take it out there's an evidence of it I'm told. Plus I don't know if it tracks boost levels in the "black box" or not, if it does it would show 30-36 PSI. :eek:

I need to find a replacement and fast!! I'm borrowing my brothers expedition, thankfully he's an HVAC tech and gets a company vehicle.

Anybody know anything? I know I'll be doing the work so I need a company and anybody that knows about what to look for changing a turbocharger on these new 6.7L Scorpion engines.

#5 ·
#6 ·
#7 ·
I've heard a lot of good things from guys tuning them and running for a long time, and I knew the risk but was running it with limits set to not overboost. Now I'm finding many people have turbos blown even on stock trucks, I see a lot about it now. I've got 16,000 miles with mine tuned but really can't say why it failed, from what I have seen is it's not boost pressure but it's the bearings that hold the shaft in place.

Thanks Term 3 I'll take a look.

#8 ·
Okay, so I heard from someone at H&S tuners that a customer told him there is a TSB out for the 2011 turbos failing. He didn't know for a fact but that I should check into it. I've been googling but can't find how to find a list of recent TSB's.
Anybody know how or where to find these, or can get it from a friend? It would be better if I was armed with that before going to dealership.

#9 ·