Ford Power Stroke Nation banner

lets talk rear dually tires

5K views 34 replies 16 participants last post by  MidnightDieselPerformance 
#1 ·
Lets talk rear dually tire set up
currently i run 285/75/16 BFG At's with 2 inch spacer on factory dually rims, and a 16x8 weld up front with 33-12.50-16 inch truxus sts's i am thinking of going to a 255/85/16 in rear same height as a 285 just narrower and ditching the spacers to tuck the rear tires in more and throw more dirt with front in a different path, any one have any thoughts to my idea?

#7 ·

I'm not an expert. I would throw some weight on the front driver's side to balance that thing out a little. That is a long ass truck and it still looks like it is trying to carry a tire.

I don't think your truck is hurting for traction House. What hurts you is wheel speed. I've yet to see you "power out" on the track. Which leads me to believe you are not lacking power, maybe rpms, but not power. That is why your truck is so competitive on those old heavy and slow sleds. JMO, but as I said above, I'm not an expert.

I know, that you know more than I ever will about truck pulling. So maybe your dually wheel idea will work better than I think it will. I just don't see how your truck could possibly have less traction than the trucks that you compete against.

#8 ·
You are right at 8k aren't you house??

#10 ·
watch rear tires searching for traction, well the bfg's are down to 35-40% tread and sts's are new there will be 300-400lb on front next year just trying to decide on tires and maybe getting tires tucked in more in rear so not running over thrown dirt from front

#13 ·
Joe you've prolly lost the equivilant to 1 hanging weight haven't you? :ford: I know you were right at the scaling limit before you had surgery.

I think trying the skinnies is worth a shot.

Dave

#16 ·