Ford Power Stroke Nation banner

Real-Time 05+ Coil Spring Supension Conversion with PICS!

26K views 33 replies 18 participants last post by  g2shuck 
#1 ·
I'm not a pro mechanic by any means but I think this will be a pretty easy project to do at home.

I got this donor chassis here:

It's an '06 F350 DRW Ambulance that rolled over in an accident with 16k miles on the clock.

Got it for $1,250:rockwoot:

Its good bits will be going into this:

This is my 03 F350 with P-Pump 12v Cummins Conversion AND a 5R110 to ZF6 conversion. Not really looking forward to having my driveshafts resized for the THIRD time but whatevs.

My 03 has 140k on it, stuff's wearing out so I'd rather replace with cheap new oem than repair old oem.

I have yet to find a nice picture thread of the 05+ coil conversion so here we go. Should be fun. I welcome every bit of advice I can get from you pros out there! I'll be figuring it out as I go so any info will help.

Thanks in advance for any and all contributions (please try to keep this thread positive and productive).

And I PROMISE to put up tons of pics, every step of the way!

Sean

See less See more
#5 ·
For some reason the forum won't let me edit my last post but to clarify:

The 06 axles are 4.10s and the 03s are 3.73s so I was going to put the rear axle in as well instead of swapping gears in my old one.

From what I gather the front is no big deal to get to the 8x170 bolt pattern, but is it possible to convert the rear? I'm only really concerned about the bolt pattern, not so much with spacers to make the axles the same width.

#6 ·
When I did it I wasn't able to use hubs the rotors or the calipers, though I wad converting mine from a 2wd. But I do know for a fact that the hubs are different.

#7 ·