Ford Power Stroke Nation banner

cp3 as HPOP(prob. dumd idea)

3K views 21 replies 12 participants last post by  wannabstrokin 
#1 ·
Well sitting here working and this idea came across my mind. Im sure it will be shot down quick, which is fine. This idea just ran across my mind, not much thought has gone into this, but here goes. Would it be of any advatage to somehow utilize a CP3 as the HPOP?? Im no diesel expert but just throwing it out there. I realize the CP3 pressurizes fuel but maybe it could be de-tuned to create more pressure than a modified HPOP, but not XX,000psi that the CP3 pressurizes fuel to. Just a thought, now somebody set me straight and get my mind out of the gutter!!!

#2 ·
You would have to detune it so far that it would be point less. Also i dont think that the fuel would even flow through a HPFP. Also the money it would cost to make it work, you could just buy any after market HPOP that you wanted

#5 ·
I think you miss understood what he is asking. If you could convert an HPFP into a HPOP right. Like banshee said CP3 will only work on fuel as HPOP will only work on oil.

#8 ·
lold^^

links houstin?

#12 ·
Rethinking the idea a bit here. Searched the net and found out i aint the first to think such different things. I will say i am new to this, so more than likely ill say something out of line. What if the fluid that was used to create the injection pressure wasnt oil. Could there be a different type of fluid that would be more optimal that a CP3 would be able to handle. Kind of create a seperate fluid system with higher operating pressure that would utilize a fluid that would get through the HEUI system better. Food for thought.

#13 ·
Yes, if we could separate the HPO system from the LPO system and have it all self contained, we could run hydraulic fluid that would hold up and work much better than engine oil. But that would be a huge PITA and extremely difficult.

#15 ·
This is just stupid... Why is what you should ask yourself ?