Ford Power Stroke Nation banner

Question on Fords policy

1K views 18 replies 11 participants last post by  fordfan30 
#1 ·
I searched and couldn't come up with anything. Please forgive me if this question has been asked already.

I have a 06 F250 with the 6.0. Had the head gaskets blow in late December of last year. I did some research then and found out about the Arp studs and how they should be used to correct the problem. Went down to the dealership and asked if they were gonna use the studs instead of the bolts. Not only did my service rep tell me they were, the mechanic did as well. To make a long story short I was having some dual pipes put on over at Rudy's in Durham yesterday and found out they used the same bolts as before. Now i'm no mechanic and had no idea what to look for after the job was completed last year. So this is a big suprise. I contacted several dealerships this morning and they all pretty much said the same thing. "We are only allowed to use ford parts". So basically i was lied to from the beginning. Don't know why but it is what it is now. My question is. Why would ford use the same exact inferior part to fix a problem knowing full well it's not the long term solution to the problem? From a business standpoint it makes no sense at all. If the head gaskets fail again under the 12 month 12k miles they are liable for the cost of the repair again. It makes absolutely no sense. Not to mention customers being extra pissed off that it's happened twice. Has anyone here had the gaskets blow a second time after the initial warranty work? Has anyone had any luck getting ford to use the ARP studs during the first failure? Any help would be greatly appreciated..........Btw, i love the site. I'm already addicted to it.

See less See more
#2 ·