Double din in a 04 f250 - PowerStrokeNation : Ford Powerstroke Diesel Forum
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 15 (permalink) Old 12-23-2010, 05:26 PM Thread Starter
Decorated Deer Killer
 
2004Stroker6.0's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Stationed in Virginia
Posts: 273
Double din in a 04 f250

First off yes im new here, but i wanted to put up a thread with your guys help about actually in detail completing the install of a double din in a 2004ish f250/f350. When i bought my truck i wanted to put one of these good lookin beasts in my truck. After searching the web i found alot of posts about it but not too many with any details other than " yea guy trim dash and get a kit". I also want to say this was my first stereo install so i had no idea what i was doin.
I went online and purchased a pioneer touchscreen, went to the local audio store bought wiring harness and a double din trim kit. This is where it got difficult for me. I had to find a kit that has the clearance for my radio and mounts my radio and locks it in the dash. Well after three stores bam an indash mounting kit and trim ring approx $21. The bag said the trim mount and ring was for Ford Explorer.
Again this is my first install, so take your harness you bought and the one from the stereo this was the simplest part. Buttsplice all wires together jus color match them.
Next was the dreaded DASH TRIMMING AHH. I dont know about many people here but any sort of cutting in my baby is just heart wrenching. So what i did was one of the measure 15 times cut as needed. first i held the trim ring up and "sharpied" the outline of what needed to go. Then tested cut and tested again. After about 45minutes of dreaded cuttin bam it is clearing. I also had to grind down 3 plastic tabs that protruded down, and remove the two 7mm bolts to clear. Bascially i removed most of the upper lip and entire bottom lip as for the side lips i will get to that in a minute.
Next i screwed the two plastic plates to the stereo (with what are the mouting and locking plates). They were defined by left and right simple enough.
Ok next i tried to install the stereo, nope it wouldnt fit. Now those plastic side plates made it too wide . I couldnt cut those side tabs out because they lock the stereo in with those plastic plates (preventing it from flyin out). The next plan of attack was remove the dash "that is the radio part" (simple just clicks on/pops off). I had to install the stereo from the rear of the dash. I just slid it in the "well" and the had the enjoyment of tryin to get the plates on the stereo to lock on the front dash part which is removed. So basically i have the front of the dash in my lap with the stereo slid in main dash and tryin to "click" the stereo to the front dash with it off while in the main dash part. if any of this makes sense? . Still not fittin those side plates on stereo bow at the front to lock on the outter dash trim lips, but they were jus a lil too wide soo i gently and barely ground down the outter dash lips jus a sliver and bam stereo clicked in and locked
Next plug your wiring harness together with stereo and factory plug. Put the front dash back on with stereo. Popped dash on while aligning back dash and front with stereo.
Next click trim ring on and DONE!!!

My indash also plays DVD's so i had a long green wire which was the E-brake switch so dvd would play i ran that under the dash and you can do as you please with yours. I did mine my own way lol.
2004Stroker6.0 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 15 (permalink) Old 12-23-2010, 11:23 PM Thread Starter
Decorated Deer Killer
 
2004Stroker6.0's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Stationed in Virginia
Posts: 273
Re: Double din in a 04 f250

any pics you guys have im sure will be a great help to other guys doin this i wish i would have had some before and after pics and the like.
2004Stroker6.0 is offline  
post #3 of 15 (permalink) Old 12-24-2010, 02:52 AM
6Leaker
 
jdc753's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Norton, MA
Posts: 6,719
Send a message via AIM to jdc753
Re: Double din in a 04 f250

nice write up. Pics I'm sure would help out specially for the others to have a better understanding of it, but overall great description.

2005 F350 Crew Cab Long bed
6.0L / Auto 4x4
SCT X3 5" Magnaflow
4" RCD lift, a bunch of stereo gear and a computer
jdc753 is offline  
post #4 of 15 (permalink) Old 12-24-2010, 12:46 PM Thread Starter
Decorated Deer Killer
 
2004Stroker6.0's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Stationed in Virginia
Posts: 273
Re: Double din in a 04 f250

thanks
2004Stroker6.0 is offline  
post #5 of 15 (permalink) Old 12-24-2010, 04:34 PM
Retired Army
 
rum4's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: South Carolina
Posts: 41
Re: Double din in a 04 f250

Ok so now I need ot save money and use this to install a new stereo in my truck. Might need to drive to Virginia to get some help from 2004Stroker6.0. Thanks for the write up.
rum4 is offline  
post #6 of 15 (permalink) Old 12-24-2010, 04:39 PM Thread Starter
Decorated Deer Killer
 
2004Stroker6.0's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Stationed in Virginia
Posts: 273
Re: Double din in a 04 f250

Any time but as for you Rum4 if im not mistakin all the newer models a double din install is twice as easy it doesnt take as much modification.
2004Stroker6.0 is offline  
post #7 of 15 (permalink) Old 12-24-2010, 06:07 PM
6Leaker
 
jdc753's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Norton, MA
Posts: 6,719
Send a message via AIM to jdc753
Re: Double din in a 04 f250

yup 05+ trucks are drop in deals, still some work removing the dash and reinstalling the head unit but much more straight forward than the 99-04 trucks.

Rum4 what year truck do you have? Is it the 08 in your avatar?

If so this is what you'll need



You'll also need to pick up a dash kit for the trim ring and 2 side mounting brackets, and a wiring harness adapter, but there will be no trimming or anything custom involved.

2005 F350 Crew Cab Long bed
6.0L / Auto 4x4
SCT X3 5" Magnaflow
4" RCD lift, a bunch of stereo gear and a computer
jdc753 is offline  
post #8 of 15 (permalink) Old 12-24-2010, 11:55 PM
Retired Army
 
rum4's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: South Carolina
Posts: 41
Re: Double din in a 04 f250

No the one in the avatar is an 2010 but the one I am talking about is my 2004 F350 SRW Lariat 4x4. My wife used to drive it but she went and bought a Nissan Cube so now it is starting the "project" phase.....
rum4 is offline  
post #9 of 15 (permalink) Old 12-25-2010, 01:18 AM Thread Starter
Decorated Deer Killer
 
2004Stroker6.0's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Stationed in Virginia
Posts: 273
Re: Double din in a 04 f250

Well I am sad to see her get a nissan but "to each there own" lol But i guess it worked out in the end you now have a nice place to start a project. I will try and get some pics of mine up sorry i am bein lazy it the holidays and all lol
2004Stroker6.0 is offline  
post #10 of 15 (permalink) Old 01-10-2011, 04:48 PM
PSN Local
 
b5dart70's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Clinton Township, Michigan
Posts: 93
Re: Double din in a 04 f250

Quote:
Originally Posted by 2004Stroker6.0 View Post
First off yes im new here, but i wanted to put up a thread with your guys help about actually in detail completing the install of a double din in a 2004ish f250/f350. When i bought my truck i wanted to put one of these good lookin beasts in my truck. After searching the web i found alot of posts about it but not too many with any details other than " yea guy trim dash and get a kit". I also want to say this was my first stereo install so i had no idea what i was doin.
I went online and purchased a pioneer touchscreen, went to the local audio store bought wiring harness and a double din trim kit. This is where it got difficult for me. I had to find a kit that has the clearance for my radio and mounts my radio and locks it in the dash. Well after three stores bam an indash mounting kit and trim ring approx $21. The bag said the trim mount and ring was for Ford Explorer.
Again this is my first install, so take your harness you bought and the one from the stereo this was the simplest part. Buttsplice all wires together jus color match them.
Next was the dreaded DASH TRIMMING AHH. I dont know about many people here but any sort of cutting in my baby is just heart wrenching. So what i did was one of the measure 15 times cut as needed. first i held the trim ring up and "sharpied" the outline of what needed to go. Then tested cut and tested again. After about 45minutes of dreaded cuttin bam it is clearing. I also had to grind down 3 plastic tabs that protruded down, and remove the two 7mm bolts to clear. Bascially i removed most of the upper lip and entire bottom lip as for the side lips i will get to that in a minute.
Next i screwed the two plastic plates to the stereo (with what are the mouting and locking plates). They were defined by left and right simple enough.
Ok next i tried to install the stereo, nope it wouldnt fit. Now those plastic side plates made it too wide . I couldnt cut those side tabs out because they lock the stereo in with those plastic plates (preventing it from flyin out). The next plan of attack was remove the dash "that is the radio part" (simple just clicks on/pops off). I had to install the stereo from the rear of the dash. I just slid it in the "well" and the had the enjoyment of tryin to get the plates on the stereo to lock on the front dash part which is removed. So basically i have the front of the dash in my lap with the stereo slid in main dash and tryin to "click" the stereo to the front dash with it off while in the main dash part. if any of this makes sense? . Still not fittin those side plates on stereo bow at the front to lock on the outter dash trim lips, but they were jus a lil too wide soo i gently and barely ground down the outter dash lips jus a sliver and bam stereo clicked in and locked
Next plug your wiring harness together with stereo and factory plug. Put the front dash back on with stereo. Popped dash on while aligning back dash and front with stereo.
Next click trim ring on and DONE!!!

My indash also plays DVD's so i had a long green wire which was the E-brake switch so dvd would play i ran that under the dash and you can do as you please with yours. I did mine my own way lol.
Two questions:

1) What pioneer touch screen did you go with? I am looking for one with the front ports instead of running cables from the back.

2) In order to watch the DVD's while on the go did you use a bypass or something else?

Thanks,
Bob

2003 F250 CC SB 4X4 6.0 Auto
Current Mods:
Updated Ford Injectors, Air Raid Intake, Evans Coolant, High idle switch (1200RPM), no muffler (straight stock pipe from turbo), Auto-Start, HPOP, ICP sensor replaced, EGR disconnected, Tekonsha Odyssey brake controller.

Future Mods:
ARP Heads Studs w/new gaskets
SCT x3 via Innovative sitting in box
b5dart70 is offline  
Reply
Gear in this thread - Powered by O'Reilly Auto Parts

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the PowerStrokeNation : Ford Powerstroke Diesel Forum forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.

Email Address:
OR

Log-in









Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.



Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page
Display Modes
Linear Mode Linear Mode



Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome