7.3 Coolant? and oil? on top and front of engine - PowerStrokeNation : Ford Powerstroke Diesel Forum

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 19 (permalink) Old 02-13-2017, 03:36 PM Thread Starter
PSN Newb

7.3 Coolant? and oil? on top and front of engine

Hey everyone,

I have a 2003 7.3 powerstroke with 272k on it and I think it has some coolant puddling in the valley on the top of the motor. Also seems to be some oil on the top as well and some down the front. Anyone have any suggestions on where to start? I have pulled the dip stick and it doesn't really look milky and the coolant doesn't seem to have oil in it. Also, did the squeeze test on the upper radiator hose and it seems to still be soft. I am new to this engine so I am still learning. Thank you for any help.

Have a great day,
Michael
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 19 (permalink) Old 02-13-2017, 04:05 PM Thread Starter
PSN Newb

Re: 7.3 Coolant? and oil? on top and front of engine

Also, some more information. I drove it 4.5 hours on the interstate yesterday and didn't have any trouble with it. No high coolant temps or EGT temps. Oil pressure was fine and didn't see any white smoke. I cranked it this am and it cranked fine and didn't see any smoke.

2003 F350 SRW 7.3 Powerstroke with 272,678 miles.
post #3 of 19 (permalink) Old 02-13-2017, 04:18 PM
PSN Veteran

are you sure thats coolant puddling in the valley? There is not alot of places for coolant to leak into the valley (that I am aware of, Im pretty new to the 7.3 also)
The heater core hoses do pass over the top of the HPOP, other then that its all oil and fuel that flow above the valley

Best bet is to clean it all up and use some clean rags in the valley to help pinpoint where the leaks are coming from
There are LOTS of places for oil and fuel to leak up there......

1997 CCLB 7.3, ZF5, 4x4, 4.10, brought back from the dead
2001 Excursion 7.3, auto, 4x4, 3.73, new to us freight train family hauler