Another 7.3 blowing smoke - PowerStrokeNation : Ford Powerstroke Diesel Forum
 3Likes

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 119 (permalink) Old 01-16-2017, 04:05 AM Thread Starter
PSN Local

Another 7.3 blowing smoke

Hi folks,
My name is Pete and I'm new to the forum and new to powerstrokes. I fix construction equipment for a living, so im familiar with industrial diesels like Perkins, Hatz, Deutz. Anyway I have a 2001 F250 that I just got from an auction and it's a project. I've reconditioned the injectors, and rebuilt the turbo. It's blowing white smoke and black fuel-like spooge out the tailpipe. So obviously to me, one (or more) of the injectors is wide open, or at least dumping more fuel than it should.

So my question to th group is, what's the best way to find out what cylinder(s) are taking on too much fuel? I don't have forscan or AE. I'm going to pick up one or the other very soon, but until then, is sure like to spitball about how to figure this out.

Anyhow thanks for reading, and thanks for any pointers!
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 119 (permalink) Old 01-16-2017, 05:06 AM
DorffMan

Re: Another 7.3 blowing smoke

Who reconditioned the injectors? I'd take then back in and have them tested... Even if you did them yourself, whenever I have an injector prob, I pull them all, take them to get teste/flowed, and get a printout of their performance. Then if I have a problem again, I can narrow down potential suspects. Other than that, maybe pull the valve covers and unplug 1 injector harness at a time and run the engine for a bit between each one to see if the prob stops... Although if one is stuck open it might not get you very much info.
post #3 of 119 (permalink) Old 01-16-2017, 01:14 PM Thread Starter
PSN Local